Reiki Chakras: The Energy Centers

In the simplest meaning, chakras are the subtle but powerful energy centers inside the human body.

The word “Chakra” is actually derived from an Indian word which means wheel or circle. However, the word Chakra is of Sanskrit origin and has been used in almost all of the traditional ways of healing as practiced in the East. The concept of chakras has been used for over a hundred years. The chakra's role in treating illnesses and disorders has been monumental.

In Reiki, there are seven chakras or energy centers seated inside a person. These chakras are situated in different points of the body. Each chakra works with a group of vital organs. Together, they ensure the wellness of a person. However, these chakras can be prone to deficiencies and imbalances.

This is where Reiki can help

Reiki Chakras

Root Chakra

The root chakra is positioned at the bottom of the pelvis. The organs that are under it are the kidneys, adrenal glands, leg bones, large intestines, rectum, and spinal column. It is the chakra that keeps a person grounded to his physical existence.

Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is positioned on the navel. The whole reproductive system belongs to it, including the bladder and spleen. This chakra can fuel one's creativity, emotions, and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra directly affects the liver, stomach, gall bladder, small intestines, and pancreas. It is associated with a person's intellectual processes. The Solar Plexus Chakra is also the seat of power. Once open and balanced, it can transform all of your aspirations and hopes into reality.

Heart Chakra

As its name implies, this chakra is positioned right on the heart. It controls many of the functions associated with the heart, including the arms, lower lungs, skin, and the thymus gland. This is the chakra of the entire circulatory system.
The Heart Chakra is the one that creates the link from the physical world towards spiritual existence. It is also the center of one's emotions, especially the emotion of love.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra controls the thyroid gland, throat, jaw, upper lungs, and vocal chords. It may also affect the digestive system. This chakra governs a person's ability to communicate. It also inspires mental creativity.

Third-Eye Chakra

The third-eye chakra corresponds to the brain, nose, face, eyes, and almost all of the organs situated in the head. It also has power over the lower brain, pituitary gland, and the central nervous system. This is the chakra that opens one's intuition. It allows a person to visualize, manifest, and even create visions beyond ordinary sight.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra corresponds to the person's whole being. It is one's direct connection to the spirit. It can lead the way on the path towards universal existence. It is also through this chakra that one can experience inner peace. It opens the path towards spiritual wisdom and can enhance one's psychic abilities.


These are the chakras that play a very crucial role in Reiki and in almost all of the traditional healing arts. A deficiency in any of these chakras would correspond with an illness. Reiki aims to clear, open, and balance these energy points to achieve health, overall wellness, and peace.


© 2009. All Rights Reserved